TV/Movie News

How Many Episodes Are In Ahsoka (& When The Finale Is)

With the Star Wars Disney+ TV show Ahsoka releasing on Disney+, viewers may wonder how many episodes there are and when the season 1 finale will release. The character of Ahsoka Tano was introduced in the 2008 animated movie, Star Wars: The Clone Wars. Originally voiced by Ashley Eckstein in a wide range of animated TV shows, she as gone on to be played by Rosario Dawson in live-action.

Dawson played the role in The Mandalorian season 2 and The Book of Boba Fett, and audience response was positive enough to lead to a spinoff TV show continuing the Jedi Master’s quest for Grand Admiral Thrawn. Ahsoka sees many other animated characters from Star Wars Rebels adapted into live-action, with Mary Elizabeth Winstead cast as the rebel leader Hera Syndulla and Natasha Liu Bordizzo as Mandalorian warrior Sabine Wren. The specter of Grand Admiral Thrawn hovers over the galaxy, a ruthless Imperial villain who has the genius to overthrow the young New Republic.

How Many Episodes Are In Ahsoka

Created by Lucasfilm’s Dave Filoni, Ahsoka runs for eight episodes in total – the same length as most other live-action Star Wars TV shows, such as The Mandalorian and The Book of Boba Fett. The first two episodes of Ahsoka premiere on Wednesday, August 23, at 12.00am PST / 3.00am EST. The following six episodes release once per week, also on Wednesdays and at the same time of day.

How Long Ahsoka’s Episodes Will Be

According to Filoni, Ahsoka was written with similar runtimes to shows like The Mandalorian. This is only a rough measure, however, given episodes of The Mandalorian have had a wide range of runtimes. The first two seasons tended to be between 30-35 minutes, with some exceptions (such as The Mandalorian season 2, episode 5, which introduced the live-action Ahsoka in a 48-minute episode). The first two episodes of Ahsoka will reportedly run for a combined hour and 36 minutes.

When Ahsoka’s Finale Airs

The first two episodes of Ahsoka release on the premiere date, with the six subsequent episodes coming out weekly. This means the Ahsoka finale airs on Wednesday, October 4 at 12.00am PST / 3.00am EST. Here is Ahsoka’s release schedule:

  • Episodes 1 & 2: Wednesday, August 23
  • Episode 3: Wednesday, August 30
  • Episode 4: Wednesday, September 6
  • Episode 5: Wednesday, September 13
  • Episode 6: Wednesday, September 20
  • Episode 7: Wednesday, September 27
  • Episode 8: Wednesday, October 4

Though Ahsoka will finish in October, the future is bright for this part of the Star Wars galaxy. Ahsoka is expected to serve as essential setup for Filoni’s upcoming The Mandalorian-era movie. Meanwhile, Ahsoka star Rosario Dawson is openly talking about her hopes for season 2.

Episodes 1 and 2 of Ahsoka will premiere on Wednesday, August 23 on Disney+.